Scads of Scones!

I am not much of a baker. Maybe because I am not hugely fond of sweets and cakes and pie, but baking has never been my thing. I do like scones. A few weeks ago the New York Times had a recipe for scones. I clipped it and one Sunday morning when everyone was still asleep, I mixed up a batch of current and pecan scones.

photo (20)

They were a big hit. Peter, Ellie and Jim came down to a nice Sunday breakfast with fresh baked scones. They seemed to like it.

The recipe was for Currant Cream Scones and I added the pecans on my own.

So, a couple of weeks later, I made another batch, but this time I made a double batch so Peter and Ellie could take some scones back to school. There was general clamor and acclaim.

Now scone frenzy has erupted in the Frost household. Scones are in major demand. Texts arrive on my phone during the week entreating, demanding, reinforcement of scone supplies. Much discussion takes place of alternate recipes. Ginger, blueberry, with nuts, without nuts–this is all the subject of hot debate.

Peter came home this weekend to keep me company while Jim is off visiting his mother in Florida. Scones were, without doubt, a necessity. Remembering his previous request for ginger, I checked out potential recipes. The winner was Ginger Scones as found on Simply Recipes.  

A double batch was whipped up. Scones for Peter to take back to school. Scones for the freezer for Jim when he gets home and Ellie when she next visits. Scones for tea and breakfast. We are scone replete.

Next up: Blueberry with nuts.

One Comment to “Scads of Scones!”

  1. Not much of a baker! Hah! Your scones are heavenly, rich and moist. And we’ve enjoyed delicious holiday pies and other baked goodies for as long as I can remember. It may not be your specialty, so we’ll just add it to the long list of things you do very well in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 539 other followers

