My first 3-Day breast cancer walk

In 2004 I did the 3-Day in New York. I decided to do the walk on the spur of the moment. I heard an ad on the radio and I just knew I wanted to be part of it. I wanted to do something which mattered. I heard the ad, ran inside and signed up. Afterward, I started to think about why it was important that I do this. I wanted to honor someone in my life who died of breast cancer and who had not been properly honored by me for the role she played in my life. Nancy McCord was my first boss in publishing and I worked for her for five years. Nancy went to Smith and when I worked for her was in charge of special markets at Warner Books. She later left publishing to devote herself full-time to adult literacy efforts. Nancy taught me a lot and, although I was a hard worker and a good assistant, I was also a real pain sometimes. I did all the stupid things kids do before they find out about real life. Nancy was patient and forged on to teach me a tremendous amount about marketing and publishing. I never knew she was sick and I never made the opportunity to thank her. The walk was my thank you to Nancy.

That first walk was a tremendous experience. I trained hard. I was able to raise a lot of money with a lot of help from my friends. It was a big effort with a really big payoff. When I finished that third day walking the boroughs of New York, I was tremendously moved and tremendously happy.

I didn’t think I would do the walk again. It took so much time and I missed being with my family. Last Christmas, when Ellie suggested we walk together, I was deeply moved that she would want to do this with me and that we could make this an effort for the two of us. I also had to reflect on how many women, good friends of mine, have had to deal with breast cancer since that last walk.

My first walk was for Nancy. This time I walk for a larger group of women. I will tell you about them over the next few weeks. And this time I am also walking for Ellie. I don’t want her to ever face the fear and loss that breast cancer has meant for so many women.

4 Comments to “My first 3-Day breast cancer walk”

  1. Ilene and I are so pleased but unsurprised that you would would walk for such a good cause. Doing so shines a bright light on the way to reducing suffering and even finding a cure. Thanks and kudos to you two girls for walking the good walk.
    David

  2. This is a great cause and will likely be an unforgettable story for you and Ellie. I look forward to reading about your adventures as you train and prepare. Love your team trainer, too!

  3. This is such an inspirational journey you are having together and it’s just beautiful to see (and read about it)! My mom is my world too and that special bond you are creating is just priceless. A story you will carry with you forever.
    Congrats and keep up the great work!! I look forward to reading more 🙂

  4. Love the cause & love the blog! I look forward to reading about your preparation and eventual completion of the walk!

Leave a Reply

