Happy Mother’s Day!

Mother’s Day, a day I know my mom personally loves, as we have a family dinner with cards and a present. But now the day means more to my mom and me as we continue preparing for our walk. Now this day is a reminder of yet again why we are doing this. Not only are we doing this for our own mothers (or current ones) but we’re also doing this for for future mothers, the next generation. So throughout this day, writing this post or watching my mom open presents, I want to remind myself why this walk is so important.

– Ellie

Tags:

5 Comments to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. I’m so excited and happy for both of you..what a wonderful contribution you’re making to the Race for the Cure, but also to those of us whose lives you’re touching by sharing this adventure… best wishes for lots of special moments, laughter and insight as you train for this huge event..rooting for the 2 of you from Phoenix.

  2. I am lucky in that I have never lost a loved one to breast cancer and there is no known history in my family. However, I have seen how it affects others and have a friend who does the DC walk with all of her female family members in honor of her cousin who died from breast cancer. It is a wonderful and necessary cause to support, but from what I gather the walk itself has so much meaning to those who participate. Enjoy every moment of it and the special bonding and memories you will have from engaging in it.

  3. Hi Jenny and Ellie!

    We look forward to reading your blog from across the other side of the ‘pond’ – It seems a very long time ago, Ellie, that you walked with Jacob to feed the alpaca on that parched New Zealand hillside…. great memories.

    It is a great cause that you are supporting too – we have been on the emotional rollercoaster of cancer when Georgie (a 40 year old non-smoker) was diagnosed with a lung tumour – and we are deeply thankful that her surgery and prognosis has been so positive.

    So best wishes to you both from Solihull, England!

    Julian, Georgie, Jacob, Gabriel and Teddy (Theo)

  4. My Mom was just diagnosed this year with Stage 3 Breast Cancer. She is in the midst of chemotherapy so this Mother’s Day was pretty somber. We watched a Golden Girls marathon. Golden Girls is so much more funnier to me now then when it used to be on when I was a kid. Looking at it now I’m not sure why it was able to be on primetime BUT luckily as a kid I wasn’t laughing at the context I was laughing at the delivery and Rose’s random stories.

  5. Dear Ellie,

    I used to work with your mom at Bantam, many years ago, and then again later at Crown. She’s a great lady, and I love what the two of you are doing.

    So how do I donate?

    Warm regards,

    Peter

Leave a Reply

