Blogging With Benefits

Working on this blog and preparing for the Big Walk has been a lot of fun and I have learned a lot. Obviously, I have learned a bit about blogging. Of course, Ellie learned to do this in 7th grade, but those of us who pre-date the digital age need to learn these new skills on our own. That can be a lot tougher. So, blogging skills have been a side benefit. Another major benefit has been hearing from people with whom I may not have been in touch for quite some time. Invariably, the people I hear from have their own stories to tell of friends and relatives who have battled breast cancer. Some have won their battles and, sadly,  others have not.

I think we all have friends who we think of frequently and with whom we are all too infrequently in touch. I certainly have quite a few. I was very pleased and touched to hear from one such friend just recently after Ellie and I announced our blog.

This is a friend of long duration. We worked together many years ago and working with my friend was always a complete pleasure. Some of my favorite memories are of traveling to visit this person to work together. We always had a great time and amazing adventures. Over the years we have seen each other peripatetically and each time have vowed not to let time slip away again. Of course, we always have what with growing families and careers in different parts of the country. So, I was delighted to receive an email with an update of family events and a reiterated desire to re-connect.

The less wonderful news from this friend concerned his wife who last fall was diagnosed with breast cancer, underwent a mastectomy and both chemo and radiation. His wife seems to be doing quite well now and the prognosis is good for her, but I was heartbroken to think of the pain and fear my friend, his wife and family must have shared through the fall and winter and I wished so much that I could somehow have been of help. That desire may have been heartfelt, but of little utility. While I certainly could have lent moral support, there wasn’t much else I could have done.

But with our walk, Ellie and I can do something to help our friends, their friends and people we don’t even know. By getting out to show our support with our feet and by raising money to help fund research and the treatment of breast cancer, we can, as my daughter put it so well in another blog post, make a difference for people today and in the future.

I really hope my friend and I make good on our renewed protestations to re-connect. If there is one thing we can all learn from the periodic upheavals in life, from illness or job loss and other difficult events, it is truly the people in our lives who make us rich with happiness and friendship. We get so busy with the day to day push to get things done and get ahead, it is really hard to stop and remember the truly important things. It is hard to really learn these lessons about what is important and incorporate them into our lives and our actions.

In the meantime, connecting with old friends is truly a benefit of this process and I thank each of you who are reading our blog, for supporting us and for being part of our lives.

Leave a Reply

