Emerson and Passion

“Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.”– Ralph Waldo Emerson

 Years ago I got Jim hooked on The Teaching Company. These are lectures on audio and video by well-liked professors. I thought this was such a fantastic business that I tried to buy it twice.

Instead I turned my husband into an enthusiast. He has shelves of these lectures. We are now listening to one on American literature. I was really pleased to listen to the lectures on Emerson and Transcendentalism. Somehow I missed this whole period and I felt so ignorant.

Emerson is fascinating with his focus on self-reliance and the definition of the self. There was so much of him that presaged later American writers and I even hear it so clearly in American composers like Copland.

I particularly like this quote and the emphasis on passion in life.

Of course, not everyone loves riding in the car listening to Jim’s lectures. Peter dives for the noise cancelling headphones with his own alacrity and passion.

 

Leave a Reply

