Kindness Reigns

Three things in human life are important: The first is to be kind. The second is to be kind. And the third is to be kind.”
 Henry James

 There are some lessons which seem to need to be learned over and over again. Kindness and speaking softly fall into those categories for me. The world always needs more kindness especially these days. It is so easy to be kind to other people. It just takes some thought and a little effort. Making someone smile, holding the door, asking someone how they are and meaning it. Those are all gestures which brighten the day. It is a lot harder than it looks to hold that intention every day.

And it isn’t just strangers who deserve kindness. No matter how strong and good my intentions, sometimes I find myself speaking more sharply than I intend. Maybe I feel rushed or a little cranky or am just distracted and then I say something which just doesn’t sound the way I would like it to. Most of the time it isn’t intentional, but that doesn’t make it any better. Most often it seems my children are on the receiving end. When I see that look in their eyes, it makes me shudder. Not only do I not want to be sharp with them, I don’t want to teach them to be like that either.

I wonder if Henry had the same problem.

