Fallen Soldiers (Unsung Heroes)

Veterans Day has certainly become more meaningful to me as my life has become more entwined with military service and especially the Marine Corps. Reading blogs from the Marine Corps, sharing Alex’s experiences and the recent celebration of some of our service men heroes, brings the idea of sacrifice and commitment into sharp focus.

I want to share this amazing link to a rap done by a former Marine honoring a Medal of Honor recipient, Jason Dunham. Written by former Cpl. Joe Potter, this video made me pause and reflect on the selflessness and ultimate sacrifice made by Cpl. Dunham. I want to share it and hope you wil share it as well.

I also want to share the background on Joe Potter, the creator of the song and video because it is also an example of the respect and brotherhood forged in the Marine Corps.

http://alturl.com/x8ew8

I know that Alex would love to “go the the sandbox” and make what he feels is a meaningful statement in his career, but when I see the picture of Jason and his mother together, I am thankful that I will never have to bear the cost of his heroism. I am too selfish. But I am also proud of Alex and the men and women who are willing to rish it all for what they believe in. Semper Fi.

Leave a Reply

