A Quiet Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving weekend has almost come to a close. It was a quiet holiday, but there was much to be thankful for. After a wild fall of weather, a quiet weekend was both welcome and relaxing. We spoke often of those who were not with us–or we with them. Of course, Alex topped the list. Ferd was right there with him. As I set our dinner table, I thought of Bobbie and used her silver as a way to insure that she and the memories of Thanksgivings past were well represented. It was sweet to reflect on last Thanksgiving and our fun visit to the Kuntz’s and Dawson’s at Lake Geneva. It was equally sweet to think of Frosts from Florida to Michigan, Texas to Georgia and the good times we have enjoyed together in the recent past.

I give thanks for my beloved spouse, for my three amazing children, for Dakota who makes me smile, for my extended family, for my friends both new and old, for my job and the security and sense of accomplishment it brings, for my crafts and the joy they give me, for good health and enough to eat and a roof over my head. I am thankful for my good fortune and mindful of those who have suffered especially this fall with the storms and I hope for the best for them.

Monday will bring the everyday rush and cares. The crazy run up to the Christmas holidays, but for the balance of today, there is time to savor and reflect.

3 Comments to “A Quiet Thanksgiving”

  1. Lovely Jenny… and I am thankful to be part of your circle.

  2. I too give thanks for all my riches not the least of which is reading your inspiring and thoughtful blog. Thank you Jenny and best wishes to you and all your family. Arlene

  3. You clearly have taken the time to reflect on the people in our lives, and the important things for which we should be grateful. Love the turkeys centerpiece tableau and host Peter’s welcoming gesture; your photos are wonderful!

Leave a Reply

